Beau Nelson chats with fellow celeb makeup artist Dean Bryant about Leighton Meester’s Emmy look

September 25, 2009 at 5:00 am Leave a comment

Leighton Meester at the 2009 Emmy Awards

Leighton Meester at the 2009 Emmy Awards

Makeup artist Dean Bryant recently emailed me to let me know that he used one of my new Beauté Cosmetics Weightless Lip Cremes on Leighton Meester for the Emmys, so I took the opportunity to grill him about what else he used and ask him a few questions I thought our readers might be interested in. Check it out!

BEAU NELSON: How did you and Leighton decide on the look for the Emmys?

DEAN BRYANT: We decided together – the white dress reminded me of a sacrificial virgin, especially with the gold cuffs. I thought she could make a bit more of a statement with the makeup so it wasn’t too innocent. I would never have done that makeup if she was in a red or even black dress, or a dress that was overtly sexy. There was such an innocence about the dress, I thought it deserved a soft smokey eye, and a red “masochist” lip!

BN: Tell us how you achieved the look?
DB: I used Face Atelier Foundation…just the smallest amount. Her skin is flawless!  I swept MAC eyeshadow in Soba all over the lid and underneath. I then deepened the outer eye with MAC Chocolate Brown loose pigment, and lined the inside eyes with ebony pencil. I curled lashes, used L’Oreal Voluminous mascara, and applied individual lashes.

MAC Trace Gold was swept on on cheeks, with a touch of NARS Orgasm blush just on the apples of cheeks.

And on lips I lined in MAC Cherry pencil, and applied Beauté Weightless Lip creme in Masochist. It is an amazing product! Goes on like a gloss but is like a satin lip stick.

BN: What are some of the must have products in your kit?
DB: Laura Mercier concealers, also her Secret BrightenerMAC Studio Fix (some habits never die!) Body & Soul eyeliner in Drama…it’s just a nice black pencil!

BN: Do you have any unique tips or tricks for our readers?
DB: Curl your lashes when you wake up!

BN: If you could design a fantasy makeup product, what would it be?
DB: A make~up kit that just followed me by itself!
BN: Oh, I want one of those, too! Hahaha.

Entry filed under: Celebrity How-To. Tags: , , , , , , , .

How to get straight hair like Gwyneth Paltrow Beauty…Hollywood Style: Moving from NYC to LA!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Follow me on

Share this

Bookmark and Share


